International Advisory Board
Home > About > International Advisory Board

Contact Us

  • Address: Mingli building, Tsinghua University, Haidian District, Beijing
  • Postcode: 100084
  • Tel: 010-62781788 62782199
  • Email:


International Advisory Board

On October 20, 2020, Tsinghua University’s Vanke School of Public Health  set up its first international advisory board (IAB), to bring great minds together and seek academic and other scientific and technical input for the further development of the recently-established school as well as for China’s public health sector.

The IAB is co-chaired by HAN Qide, Honorary Chairman of China Association for Science and Technology, and Harvey Fineberg, President of Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. It is composed of 34 well-known experts and scholars from 12 countries around the world, including deans of world-famous public health schools, leaders of non-governmental organizations, public health sector leaders, and outstanding entrepreneurs.

To transform the school into a world-class public health school, the IAB is expected to give forward-looking guidance and suggestions for the school’s scientific research, talent nurturing, social services, international cooperation and exchange, and to help expand its global presence.


HAN Qide

Honorary Chairman of China Association for Science and Technology

Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences

Harvey Fineberg

President of Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation

Members(In alphabetical order of member’s last name)

Anarfi Asamoa-baah

Presidential Coordinator, the Ghana’s Coronavirus Response Program

Former Deputy Director-General of the World Health Organization (WHO).

Stef Bertozzi

Professor in health Policy and Management, Dean Emeritus, UC Berkeley

Seth Berkley

CEO, the Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunization (GAVI) Alliance

Gian Luca Burci

Adjunct Professor of International LawAcademic Adviser, Global Health Centre

Director, Joint LLM in Global Health Law and GovernanceGraduate Institute of International and Development Studies Geneva


Director, the Institute of Bioengineering, Institute of Military Medicine, Military Academy of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army

Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering

Chia Kee Seng

Professor, Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health, National University of Singapore

Sir Jeremy Farrar

Director, the Wellcome Trust

Detlev Ganten,

Chairman, World Health Summit


Vice President of the University of Hong Kong

Sir Andy Haines

Professor, Environmental Change and Public HealthLondon School of Health and Tropical Diseases

David D.Ho

The Founding Scientific Director of the Aaron Diamond AIDS Research Center and the Clyde and Helen Wu Professor of Medicine at Columbia University Irving Medical Center


Director, Hospital Management Research Institute, Tsinghua University, Chairman, China Organ Transplantation Development Foundation


President, China Academy of Chinese Medicine Sciences

Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering


Vice Chairman, China Center for International Economic Exchanges,

Distinguished Professor, Shanghai Fudan University

Marie-Paule Kieny

Director, Research at the National Medical Research Institute in France (Inserm), Former Assistant Director-General, Health Systems and Innovation, WHO

LIU Guoen

Peking University Boya Chair Professor,

Director, PKU China Center for Health Economic Research

LIN Huiqing

Chief Committee Member, Medial Education Expert Committee of the Ministry of Education

LI Yingchuan

Deputy Director and Member of the Party Leadership Group of the General Administration of Sport

Ellen J. MacKenzie

Dean, Bloomberg School of Public Health, John Hopkins University,

Rob Moodie

Professor, School of Population and Global Health, the University of Melbourne

RAO Keqin

Secretary General, Chinese Medical Association

Yong Soo Shin

Professor of Health Policy and Management, School of Medicine, Seoul University

Former WHO Western Pacific Regional Director

Mark Suzman

President, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation


President, Peking Union Medical College,

President, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences

Vice President of the Chinese Academy of Engineering,

Member of Chinese Academy of Engineering


Distinguished Professor, Department of Earth System Science, Tsinghua University, Former Director of China Center for Disease Control and Prevention

Michelle Williams

Dean of the Faculty, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, and Angelopoulos Professor in Public Health and International Development

WU Tangchun

Dean, Tongji School of Public Health, Huazhong University of Science and Technology


Dean, Schwarzman College, Tsinghua University

Distinguished Professor of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Tsinghua University

Professor, School of Public Management, Tsinghua University

YU Liang

Chairman, the Board of Directors of Vanke Group

Nancy Y. Ip

Vice-President for Research and Development, the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology(HKUST)

The Morningside Professor of Life Science, HKUST

Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences

ZHI Shuping

Member of the Standing Committee and Deputy Director of the Proposal Committee of the 13th CPPCC National Committee

ZHANG Yanling

President, the Chinese Physicians Association

President, the World Chinese Physicians Association

WeChat public number

Copyright © 2020 vanke school of public health,tsinghua university All Rights Reserved.