Home > About > International Advisory Board
Dean's Message Overview The Leadership International Advisory Board Careers Contact Information

On October 20, 2020, Tsinghua University’s Vanke School of Public Health  set up its first international advisory board (IAB), to bring great minds together and seek academic and other scientific and technical input for the further development of the recently-established school as well as for China’s public health sector.

It is composed of 34 well-known experts and scholars from 12 countries around the world, including deans of world-famous public health schools, leaders of non-governmental organizations, public health sector leaders, and outstanding entrepreneurs.

To transform the school into a world-class public health school, the IAB is expected to give forward-looking guidance and suggestions for the school’s scientific research, talent nurturing, social services, international cooperation and exchange, and to help expand its global presence.

Tsinghua University Vanke School of Public Health

The 2nd International Advisory Board (IAB) Members

(in alphabetical order)


ZHAN Qimin

Academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering; BOYA Chair Professor of Peking University; Vice Chair of Peking, University Council; Former Executive Vice President of Peking University; Former President of Peking University Health Science Center


GU Dongfeng

Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences; Former Deputy Director of National Center for Cardiovascular Diseases; Former Vice President of Fuwai Hospital   Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences; Acting Vice President of Southern   University of Science and Technology (SUSTech); Chair Professor of Medical College of SUS Tech



Chair Professor of Global Sustainability and Vice President for Academic Development at University of Hong Kong


Gabriel Leung

Elected member of the US National Academy of Medicine; Executive   Director (Charities and Community) of the Hong Kong Jockey Club; Former Dean of Medicine and inaugural Helen and Francis Zimmern Professor in Population Health at the University of Hong Kong


LIU Guo’en

BOYA Distinguished Professor of Peking University; Dean of Institute for Global Health and Development at Peking University



Academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering; Vice President of Chinese Academy of Engineering; President of Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences; President of Peking Union Medical College


WU Tangchun

Academician   of Chinese Academy of Engineering; Dean of Tongji Medical College of   Huazhong University of Science and Technology


XU Jianguo

Academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering; Director of the State Key Laboratory for Infectious Disease Prevention and Control at China CDC



Distinguished Professor of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; Dean of Schwarzman College, Tsinghua University


Nancy Y.Ip

Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences; President of Hong Kong University of Science and Technology


YU Liang

Chairman of the Board of Directors of Vanke Group


Harvey Fineberg

President, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation


Gian Luca Burci

Adjunct Professor of International Law; Academic Adviser of Global Health Centre; Director of Joint LLM in Global Health Law and Governance at Graduate Institute of   International and Development Studies


Chia Kee Seng

Founding Dean and Professor of Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health at National University of Singapore


Christopher Elias

President of Global Development of Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation


Antoine Flahault

Founding Director of Global Health Institute


Detlev Ganten

President of World Health Summit; Co-Founder of Virchow Foundation for Global Health


Sir Andy Haines

Professor and Former Dean, London School of Health and Tropical Diseases


David D.Ho

Clyde and Helen Wu Professor of Medicine, Columbia University Irving Medical Center; Director of Aaron Diamond AIDS Research Center; Director of Wu Family China Center


Ellen J. MacKenzie

Dean of Bloomberg School of Public Health of John Hopkins University


Rob Moodie

Professor of Public Health, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, University of Melbourne


Michelle Williams

Former Dean of the Faculty at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health